SWIFTS COMPETITION NEWSLETTER

Season 2017-18 Issue 35 20 May 2018







Badminton England Club of the Year 2017

Surrey Heath Sports Club of the Year 2016

If the training is easy the match will be hard, but if the training is hard the match will be easy.

SWIFTS JUNIOR BADMINTON CLUB www.swiftsjbc.org.uk

Match Secretary

Cliff Buffham 17 Green Hill Road Camberley GU15 1PF

Phone: 01276 25078

E-mail:

cliff_buffham@ntlworld.com

International representation

Smrithi Shirol did not attend our presentation session on Saturday as she was busy gaining even more international medals in Glasgow. She competed in the U15 Glasgow International Youth Championships and reached the semi-final of both the singles and doubles events.

National circuit results

Christopher Chong finished his competitive season in fine style at the weekend when he reached the semi-final of the boys' singles event at the Warwickshire U18 Rising Stars open tournament, defeating the top seed at the group stage and losing only to the eventual winner.

County representation

The Surrey U14 team contested the U14 Shires League finals in Wolverhampton at the weekend and finished as runners-up for the season. Lila Dundas, Sebastian Grove and Hayden Mitchell were all in the team.

A new member welcomed

We welcome our newest recruit, Evangeline Stewart (U9), who joins us as a beginner. Like all the other 8:30am session members she will be coming along at 10am for the summer.

Swifts award presentations

We held our annual awards presentations on Saturday, with the achievements of our members and helpers recognised in the traditional way. Obviously, a large proportion of the membership received certificates and awards and they cannot all be mentioned individually. However, the winners of the major awards were as follows:

Mike Cripp Trophy Smrithi Shirol (for best representation of Swifts)

Clive Dean Trophy (for sportsmanship) Jacob Sheffield

Jamie Ellis Trophy (for the most caps) Nathan Gibson

Adam Dudley Trophy (boys' singles) Christopher Chong

Christine Meades Trophy (girls' singles) Serena Farrelly

/continued on page 2

Swifts presentations cont'd

Walker Trophy (girls' doubles) Aimee Christian &

Katie Remment

Team Manager of the Year Jennie Gibson & (and our grateful thanks to all the others) Maxine Wells

Excellent attendance: Sally Grove, Leo Robson-Sankey, Radhika Shah,

Udita Sharma, Abigail Barnfield, Leo Desai, Toby Gibson, Annabella Salt, Jessica Addy, Yicheng Lim, James Warne, Nathan Gibson,

Bradley Mayuga, Matthew Barnfield, Jacob Sheffield, William Salt, Max Curtis,

Phoebe Ridsdill-Smith, Max Curtis

Players of the Season, beginners Sarah Devapragasam,

Jimmy Brazendale

Most Improved Player, beginners Christian Jeremiah

Players of the Season, improvers Emma Ranson, Kye Wang

Most Improved Player, improvers Siddhanth Shirol

Players of the Season, juniors Ruby Clark, Liam O'Hara

Most Improved Player, juniors Jessica Addy

Players of the Season, intermediates Lottie Sweby, Charlotte Addy,

Izaac Mayuga

Most Improved Player, intermediate Matthew Barnfield

Players of the Season, emerging Lily Clark, William Salt

Players of the Season, advanced Ruth Devapragasam, Max Curtis

Chairman's Special Award Anish Goel

Pictures from the weekend



Smrithi Shirol



Christine Thompson, post-presentation



Christopher Chong



The Swifts trophy winners for 2017-18, and an extra pair of legs, just to be sure nobody was excluded! (Anish Goel, recipient of the chairman's special award, is also hiding, third from the right in the back row)